WD Boyce Instagram     
Join Scouting: Visit BeAScout.org   Donate to the WD Boyce Council, BSA   Join WD Boyce Family Society    Job Openings


  WD Boyce Instagram   


Join Scouting: Visit BeAScout.org   Donate to the WD Boyce Council, BSA   Join WD Boyce Family Society    Job Openings


Venturing Awards


Advancement has been an important part of the Boy Scouts of America since the issuance of the first 12 merit badges in 1911. In that same tradition, a variety of awards are available to Venturers who accomplish specific advancement achievements. These awards include:


Venturing Bronze Award
The five different Venturing Bronze awards are Arts and Hobbies, Outdoor, Sea Scout (Ordinary Award), Sports, and Youth Ministries. All five Bronze awards contain the common elements of experience, learning a skill, and sharing your experiences and skills with others. Earning at least one Bronze Award is required for the Venturing Gold Award. The Bronze Award is designed as the entry-level award for Venturers so they can acquire usable skills that will carry them along the trail to the Venturing Silver Award.

Venturing Silver Award
The new Venturing Silver Award is available to all Venturing youth members of the Boy Scouts of America. Its purpose is to provide a pathway for personal development; encourage Venturers to learn, grow, and serve; and recognize the high level of achievement of Venturers who acquire Venturing skills.

Venturing Gold Award
The Venturing Gold Award program was developed to recognize the significant accomplishment in a Venturer's life as he or she has proven outstanding performance in a broad spectrum of activities. These activities relate to Venturing's six experience areas of leadership, citizenship, social, outdoor, service, and fitness. It will challenge and motivate Venturers over an extended period and provide a favorable image of the Venturing program among youth, parents, schools, and our communities. It will offer challenging and stimulating opportunities for Venturers to develop and achieve personal goals in the areas of leadership, character development, and personal fitness.

Venturing Ranger Award
The purpose of the award is to encourage Venturers to achieve a high level of outdoor skills proficiency; recognize achievement of this high level of outdoor skills proficiency; provide a path for outdoor/high-adventure skills training; establish Rangers as a highly trained leadership resource for crews, Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, and the community. The Ranger Award exemplifies a challenging high-level outdoor/high-adventure skills advancement program. Once earned, it will identify a Ranger as someone who is skilled at a variety of outdoor sports and interest, trained in outdoor safety, and ready to lead or assist others in activities. Rangers can be great program assets to Cub Scout packs and Boy Scout troops.

Sea Scouting Quartermaster Award
The Quartermaster Award is the highest award in Sea Scouting and is as prestigious as the Eagle Award. It represents fulfillment. It results from a Sea Scout's determination to reach a goal he or she has set and achieved in spite of difficulties along the way.


There is also an award designed to provide recognition for youth and adults:

Venturing Leadership Award
The Venturing Leadership Award is presented by councils, areas/regions, and the BSA National Council to Venturers and adults who have made exceptional contributions to Venturing and who exemplify the Venturing Code.

W. D. Boyce Council - Serving 14 counties in Central Illinois. Copyright 2022.      Login